a few of my favorite things

401k’s with full-vested matching
Annuity payments are really quite catching
Nice birthday cards with ten-dollar bills
These are a few of my favorite thrills
 
Three months of savings so I am protected
in case from my job I find myself ejected
Credit card offers filling landfills
These are a few of my favorite thrills

When my stocks sink
When my job stinks
When I’m feeling poor
I simply remember my favorite thrills
And I don’t feel poor no more

Home-bound after a week of hard travel
Wife at the door with kisses and hugs
Children excited to see their Daddy
These are a few of my favorite thrills

Family meetings, buffet dinners
Best investment I’ve made ever
Rambunctious sons, daughters who sing
These are a few of my favorite things

When my stocks sink
When my job stinks
When I’m feeling poor
I simply remember my favorite thrills
And I don’t feel poor no more

With hotel reward plans I travel in style
Frequently flying I rack up the miles
Expensing my Starbucks for breakfast’s a thrill
These are a few of my favorite thrills.

Freezer stocked full of good food for the winter
Pallets of pellets and all without splinters!
Pellet stove warming to fight off those chills
These are a few of my favorite thrills

When my stocks sink
When my job stinks
When I’m feeling poor
I simply remember my favorite thrills
And I don’t feel poor no more

This article originally appeared in the October 29, 2008, edition of the Greenhorn Valley View.

Leave a Reply

